Let’s catch up

Hi friends,

It’s been a crazy few weeks and I thought I’d fill you in on a few things in my life and a new series that I’m bringing to the blog starting this week.

So I’ve moved! I’m officially living in the countryside. It’s all happening here- sheep, fields, more fields, it’s all very exciting. I’m exaggerating, it’s not actually that bad, but it is way more rural than the environment I’m used to. I travelled back to Surrey this weekend for a friend’s birthday which was so fun and gave me a chance to catch up with all my lovely friends…and the cyber world. The first week of living in our new home was great but it was tarnished a little by the lack of internet. Slow Wifi is considered a major stress influencer so imagine what no Wifi does to a girl (let’s just say it wasn’t all smiles and laughs…in fact there was an extreme lack of smiles and laughs). Anyway, I just wanted to devote this first paragraph of my 6th blog post to the greatest creation since the kettle… the internet! I’ve missed it a lot this week but honestly it’s made me really appreciate this resource that we so often take for granted and many of us abuse, using it to attack others and spread messages of hate.

Now the true purpose of this post (if you’re still reading, thanks) was to tell you about an exciting new series I’m starting this week. It really is just a bit of an experiment and I’m not sure how long it’ll go on for but I’d really appreciate any thoughts/feedback, so let me know what you think!

Introducing…

Photo cred: http://www.thetinytwig.com/ (This site is such an inspiration to me- give it a browse)
Photo cred: http://www.thetinytwig.com/ (This site is such an inspiration to me- give it a browse)

Each week I’ll be posting twice. I’ll be continuing to post every Saturday but in addition each week I’ll be sharing a few thoughts on a female biblical character. I feel like for the majority of people the extent of their knowledge of biblical women is Mary (who is great by the way, I’ll be discussing her one week don’t you worry) but there are so many brilliant, inspiring, intelligent women throughout His Word that can sometimes be a little overshadowed by the great men of the Bible. I’m excited to highlight a few women who I’m particularly interested in and see what we can learn from their stories.

So that’s about all for now, nothing else to report that’s of any particular interest…except for the fact that this weekend I was introduced to Yorkshire Gold teabags for the first time and although they aren’t actually made if gold they definitely taste like they are.

Hope you’re all having a lovely summer,

Ella x

11 thoughts on “Let’s catch up

  1. thanks for checking out my blog. I’m a bit fresh to this scene but the support means a lot. hope to get so tips on keeping the blog fresh because yours looks great. God bless you

    Like

    1. Hi there! Thanks for reading and commenting 🙂 To be honest with you I’m pretty new to the blogging world too! All I can tell you is advice that I’ve received myself and has really helped form the basis of my blogging so far (sudden eureka moment- I may create a blog post explaining these in more detail at some point) For now though, very briefly- 1. Write for you as much as for others. Write about things that you’re passionate about because a post that feels honest and personal is always going to be the best. 2. Don’t get caught up in stats, your ability to write sometimes wont be reflected in how many views you have so try not to take too much notice. 3. TYPOSSSSSS- I get caught out all the time with typos, so my advice is to ask at least 2 others to proof read! 4. Home page- what does it look like? Does it make your readers want to click for more? I really suggest you read this article- http://www.thetinytwig.com/2012/08/09/welcome-home/ it really, really helped me! Hope some of that was remotely helpful?! I really like your blog and I’m excited to see it grow in the future, stick at it!! Ella x

      Like

  2. Your country life sounds so lovely – kind of envious as I head back to school in a college town and a small apartment 😉

    Also, love the idea of a women in the bible series – we did a devo series like this with Tirzah Magazine earlier this year and now I’m working on turning it into an ebook to sell in our shop. Maybe I’ll contact you sometime about doing a guest devo for us – I enjoy your writing and content so much!

    Like

    1. Thanks for checking out my blog and commenting, I really appreciate it 🙂 Moving to the countryside definitely took some adjustment but it is lovely! Aw thanks, it’s a bit of an experiment for me as its my first ‘series’ on the blog but I’m enjoying it. Wow that sounds amazing, I’ll have to check that out! I would love for you to contact me about a guest Devo, I’d be happy to do that. I hope the Ebooks going well, how exciting! X

      Like

Leave a Reply

