Halloween: The triumph of good over evil

This week my lovely friend Marcelle shares a few thoughts on Halloween and gets you into an autumnal mood…

Check out her blog here!


Ah, Autumn.

There is nothing like the smell of fresh grass and the sight of amber coloured leaves scattered on the ground as I walk by Kingston riverside. The temperature is just right; I’m wearing dark colours but carry a light jacket as it’s not too cold yet. Also, more coffee to keep warm! Bring on October.

Of course with October also comes Halloween. Controversial opinion here, but I quite enjoy Halloween.

Now before you start claiming heresy, let me explain.

I love dressing up. I love costume parties of any kind and I’ll make any excuse to get together with friends and eat endlessly! Growing up in a Pentecostal home however (and being the daughter of a preacher man) it’s safe to say we never participated in Halloween. If anything, we’d head to church for a big night vigil or prayer night which I didn’t think was bad, I just never quite understood the fear of Halloween. ,

Without going too deep about Halloween – we could spend hours  – the reason I quite like it is because behind the scares and cheap thrills, crazy masks and horror theme parks… I know one thing for sure.

I have nothing to be afraid of.

I’m talking about being fearless beyond enduring a scary movie.

For me, October is a season that serves as a powerful reminder of how good always triumphs over evil.

I’m the first to admit that sometimes life can place us in seasons where we feel like we’re in a horror movie. We feel like “evil” is out to get us and that we’re all alone. Whether it’s a family member that’s ill or endless job rejections – we just can’t seem to win.

However, the beauty of believing and trusting in our sovereign God is that we can rest assured that He’s gone before us in any situation. This gives me such hope for the future. Yours and mine. I absolutely love this passage in Deuteronomy:

“The Lord himself goes before you and will be with you; he will never leave you nor forsake you. Do not be afraid; do not be discouraged.” – Deut. 31:8.

When God is with us, we have nothing to fear because He is far more powerful and victorious than any and I mean ANY situation we could come across.

“[…] Power belongs to you, God, and with you, Lord, is unfailing love[…]” – Psalm 62:11-12.

The more tragedies we face and heartaches we encounter, the more we – as Christians – know that the world needs to recall what it means to be human. It is our responsibility to care, love and most of all shine the light of Gods glory in the lives of those around us. Those that are struggling to come out of the darkness.

“You are all children of the light and children of the day. We do not belong to the night or to the darkness.” – 1 Thessalonians 5:5.

This passage is simple yet so beautiful. We do not belong to the darkness. You, my dearest friend, belong to the day and belong to a God who loves and cares for you.

Did you know that years ago, it was customary to burn your Halloween costumes when the night came to an end as a way of declaring that good had won over evil.

“Your word is a lamp for my feet, a light on my path.” – Psalm 119:105.

No matter what you’re going through, I pray you’ll open your eyes to see Gods victory over your life today! His Word is not only alive and active, but it lights the journey of our life. It constantly reminds us of the powerful sacrifice Jesus paid to set us free from the darkness we can encounter.

“Again Jesus spoke to them, saying, ‘I am the light of the world. Whoever follows me will not walk in darkness, but will have the light of life.'” – John 8:12.

I told you, good always triumphs over evil.

Photo source: Pinterest

Leave a Reply

