Why you don’t need an entirely new set of resolutions

So we’re at that point in the calendar for the ‘New year, new me’ mentality. We begin reflecting on what we don’t like about ourselves, the way we’re living, who we’re doing life with…what we want to change.

Like many others across the country I’ve taken some time to set myself some fresh resolutions for 2016 but as I was writing them I realised many seemed quite familiar. The majority were repeated from last year or the years before that. Instead of feeling frustrated by this I came to realise that it’s ok to continue to pursue certain healthy life-choices or goals, even if we do so year-upon-year. So here’s what I reckon- resolutions don’t have to just be for a year.

Think back to those prayers, hopes and visions you had this time last year. Perhaps they didn’t become a reality, perhaps 2015 just wasn’t your year. That Uni offer never came through, that relationship remains broken, you never became the smoothie-bowl-making, silky-haired, kale-eater with the colour-coordinated insta-feed that you envisioned yourself being. The yoga mat sits untouched. The natural yogurt was soon replaced with ice-cream.

We all experience this kind of disappointment and as much as we want this moment, just before we head into the new year, to be it, the time for innovative ideas, new expectations and intentions, I want to remind you that its ok if this isn’t your ‘it’. This isn’t your only opportunity for you to experience your turning point and if after a few weeks old habits kick back in you don’t need to just accept it and say to yourself ‘I’ll try again next year’.

You can make a decision at any time throughout these next 12 months to reset your ambitions, to realign your life with your visions and trust that you’ll receive God’s guidance and aid in that. You can call out for His help at any time.

Lamentations 3: 22- 23 ‘Because of the Lord’s great love we are not consumed, for his compassions never fail. They are new every morning, great is your faithfulness’

Our God isn’t just a God of fresh starts on the 1st of January.

What are you praying for God to call into being this year?

 Romans 4:17- ‘He is our father in the sight of God, in whom he believed- the God who gives life to the dead and calls into being things that were not’

Last year I worked hard to build this blog, throw myself into it and attempt to write consistently, with honesty and conviction. Recently I’ve felt a little uninspired, you may have noticed that the last post before this one was written over a month ago. Uni and Christmas and life just got in the way of my writing and the pressure I put on myself to write content that’s helpful and that I’m proud to publish stopped me from actually sitting down and writing, anything, to see where my thoughts took me. I learned that the cliché ‘writer’s block’ does exist and it’s so frustrating.

So I could start a new endeavour, set myself a new challenge.

However, as discouraged as I may sometimes feel I am nowhere near finished with my little pocket of the internet and I believe that neither is God.

So instead of setting a new resolution, this year my resolution will be the same as last year; to be bold. (I talk about this in my post Half-year-resolutions)

Bold in my relationships with others, bold in how I talk about Jesus, bold in how I approach Uni work and social life and above all bold in how I write about my faith.

Bold in how I see this blog, bold in how I pray about it.

My resolution, to start We Are Fearfully Made, wasn’t just for 2015 but one for the years to come.

So what goals did you give yourself last year? Whether you set your mind to a challenge that you saw fulfilled or one that is yet to become a reality, don’t give up on it yet. God’s timing is perfect and what you didn’t achieve last year, can still happen for you. We serve a God who is able to do abundantly more than we could ask or imagine.

If that desire to write that book, to learn to play that instrument, to run that marathon, whatever it was that you didn’t get round to doing last year, if you still can’t shake it, then don’t. If it’s still bugging you, if it’s still something you really want to do, then don’t just leave it in 2015 but take that passion and vision with you into this next year. See this New Years as an opportunity to reignite that energy and enthusiasm for your goal, rather than set a new one entirely.

I really believe that one of the most valuable characteristics is that of longevity. It’s very tempting to think ‘I tried that last year’ and move onto the next set of goals but if God put something in your heart I believe you can continue to strive for it, into 2016 and even beyond and it will, in His timing, be called into being.

What goals will you be carrying with you into this New Year?

I hope you have a fun-filled, food-filled New Year’s with loved ones,

Ella x

6 thoughts on “Why you don’t need an entirely new set of resolutions

  1. I really liked this! It’s so true! I have been putting off writing my book for a while now, as its only half finished, and all the negative thoughts creep in…but this year I want to finish it! I want to be focused too instead of just being distracted by the internet a lot of the time. Thankyou for your words and wisdom!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

