Sharing your gift

This week the lovely Jena shares a bit about her journey in the blogging world and offers advice about sharing your creativity for God’s glory, I hope you’re encouraged. She writes over at www.spoonfuloffaith.com, go have a look!

 

shareyourgifts 1shareyourfaith2.jpg

_____________________________________________________

I started blogging mainly as a creative outlet over 6 years ago. (Whoa!) I remember being so afraid to get that first post out, overthinking it, wondering how people would receive what I wrote. I finally hit publish and the rest is history. My blog grew over time with consistency and faithfulness, but there was still something missing from my life. About 3 years ago, I had an encounter with Christ that changed my life. I was in a stuck place, depressed about where I was or wasn’t heading, and just over the “rat race.” I remember feeling like, if this was all life was about – a routine – then I didn’t want it. The Holy Spirit came into my life one night like a flood, and whispered that my answer was to follow my creator. That if I had a question about a piece of art, I’d ask the person who created it, right? So that’s how I should live my life, by following the one who created everything. My life was changed dramatically and instantly as I began to follow the voice of God and seek Him out in my life.

Did you know how important each one of us is to His Kingdom?

How every fiber of your being, desire in your heart, hair on your head was picked and placed perfectly on you for God’s glory? How each story is knitted together in a beautiful quilt by the one who created us? Each one of us has DNA that is unique that only creates, YOU. How awesome is that? Yet, I believe so many of us struggle with accepting this, sharing what is inside of us, and thriving in this place.

I felt a pull on my heart to get back to things I had long given up, years ago – art being one of them. I closed down my first blog, although it was pretty successful, and opened up Spoonful of Faith as a place to share my faith, my art, and my story. I started an Etsy shop and began to share inspirational art as an outlet for Christ. Jesus put such a fire in me, that I couldn’t keep my life to myself. I realized that our lives are our ministries. That our daily walk has so much power to impact those around us and share Christ. That we can be a light right where we are placed and in fact, we are destined to do so.

One thing that has helped me with confidence in my talents and gifts is abiding in God and His word.

“I am the Vine, you are the branches. When you’re joined with me and I with you, the relation intimate and organic, the harvest is sure to be abundant. Separated, you can’t produce a thing. Anyone who separates from me is deadwood, gathered up and thrown on the bonfire. But if you make yourselves at home with me and my words are at home in you, you can be sure that whatever you ask will be listened to and acted upon. This is how my Father shows who he is—when you produce grapes, when you mature as my disciples.”  – John 15:7-8 The Message

It’s easy to get pulled under the wave of comparison.

It’s easy to believe the lie that what you have to offer isn’t different or better than what others have. But in abiding in Christ and hiding His word in your heart, you begin to believe it for yourself. You begin to speak the word that is in your heart out to yourself. And over time, you really do hold on to it and believe it. It becomes a part of you and the first thing you use against the enemy. One easy activity Jesus has showed me is making two lists – one of the lies that you are hearing or believing and on the other list is what His word says about those things. I have found that the lie looks tiny in comparison to all the scriptures and promises in His word. It empowers me to believe Him over the negativity that I am faced with and gives me a physical place to look when I am having a rough day. As I recite His words, it uplifts me and gives me strength.

I also love the parable in the Bible of the men with talents /investments (Matthew 25:14-30). Basically in this passage, each man is given a different amount to take and do with; two of the men go out, use what they have and double what they have been given;  while one goes and hides what he has been given out of fear. I love that this gives us a good example of what to do with what God deposits in us. The master is happy with the two men because they were faithful over the little they had.

As we grow in relationship with Christ, we grow in knowing our true identity of who He says we are.

We become confident of the little or big that we hold in our hands, and we take the seed He plants and follow Him to see that fruit grow. Some of us see others who look like they have so much and are doing so much; but it’s really because they take the little God gives them and they work with it. (Luke 16:10)

There are so many of us that are ashamed with what we have and are not willing to invest in the seed we have been given. We must be transformed to believe what we have is important, is worth sharing and giving to the world – and guess what? Jesus will multiply it! He will take it and allow it to be used for His glory! There are so many testimonies and stories of this that we see around us daily that we can look to. As we obey and follow Him in this, our confidence and faith in Him grows. Our gifts and talents multiply, our seeds bear fruit.

I just want Spoonful of Faith to be a corner where I can shine my light. My story is important to the kingdom because it can be used to bring light and life to others. There are souls waiting to be unlocked by the words of my personal story and testimony and we also overcome the lies of the devil by using what is in us and talking about what we’ve faced! (Revelations 12:10-11)

Let us seek out the King and study His word and promises. Let them become truth to us and let us remember and recite them so they are hidden in our hearts, today. Allow His word to penetrate your mind, soul, and body and make everything new. As it changes your life, it will increase the confidence in sharing Him with the world in your own way. Jesus doesn’t care about the absolute best way to present something, so don’t stress over things being perfect or compare yourself and your work to others. He honors obedience. He just wants you to yield to Him and share what He’s planted in you. It will grow overtime. I am a living testimony of this.

As I look at my portfolio of work I see how much it has grown. I took a class for watercolor and ended up loving it and found that I was pretty good at it too. This is just one example of how He can increase what is in you. There is so much about ourselves that we don’t know, but we can discover by following Jesus. He knows what doors to open and close to allow these things to flourish in our lives.

I really hope this could inspire you to dream big and go after the desires that God puts in you. I pray that you seek Him first and I know that everything will be added unto you according to His word. It works, it really works! I am thankful for His grace and mercy as we won’t always get it right, but He carries us through it all. He really is amazing ☺

Until next time!

-Jena

3 thoughts on “Sharing your gift

  1. This was a great read and just what I needed to hear at the end of this stressful week. I have been recently lead on a new journey by God and I’m not going to lie, it’s scary and amazing at the same time. I think the most frightful part of it all is exploring a new gift you didn’t know you had. This article was a great reminder to continue to seek God and stay true to his word.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

