You complete me

So it’s that time of the year again, prepare yourself for your insta feeds to be bombarded with pinks and reds. This year I can’t join in with any eye-rolling though as my lovely boyfriend (first mention of this guy on here I realise, from now on I’ll refer to him as M) has gone all out, surprising me with chocolate, Ben and Jerry’s and a delivery of a beautiful bouquet which happened to contain the very flower that I may or may not have HEAVILY hinted was my favourite. Ok, boyfriend brag over I promise.

So it came to looking for a card for M and it was hard to find one that wasn’t too sickly or ridiculously crude. Scanning through card after card I realised one phrase was used time and time again, ‘You complete me’.

IMG_6608

 

M may be killer at chicken-pasta bakes, tea-making, dinosaur impressions and making up for my- apparently- awful jokes with his puns but he doesn’t complete me.

M brings so much joy to my life, he makes me laugh everyday and knows just how to comfort and support me (before you click off this post, I’ll keep the cringe to a minimum from here on out I promise). M contributes to my wellbeing, he brings alot to my life but he isn’t my life source, he makes me happy but he isn’t responsible for the contentment of my soul.

The truest form of love I’ve experienced isn’t in the romantic gestures of my very lovely M but in Jesus’ scars.

1 John 4:10 This is love: not that we loved God, but that he loved us and sent his Son as an atoning sacrifice for our sins.

M doesn’t complete me, but He does.

The best thing about being in a relationship is that we compliment one another, we don’t complete one another. We have individual talents, skills, visions- two complete people who now do life as a pair, making a 200%. If we were to break up we’d still be two 100% people, I wouldn’t suddenly becomes less of a person without him.

Whether you’ve got a significant other this Valentine’s or not remember that the most important relationship of all is your relationship with God. Whilst I completely advocate chick flicks, why not spend some time reflecting on the greatest love story of all time-

A God fearlessly pursues you today.

He sees everything in you, all the way to the depths of your heart where you may be hiding shame, anxieties, guilt but He loves you all the way to the heights of heaven.

The creator of the universe wants to be in relationship with you.

Regardless of your relationship status I hope you feel unconditionally loved this Valentines.

The deepest, most powerful love is the sacrificial, relentless love of our saviour.

For me the 14th of Feb is a day to celebrate our loves ones, not only our romantic partners but family and friends too. I hope you have a relaxed, joyful day wherever you are.

Jer. 31:3 ‘I have loved you with an everlasting love’

 

you complete me 3

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “You complete me

Leave a Reply

